The Little Moments of Unexpected Beauty

Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

 


 

 

I have spent the last hour or so thinking, starting, starting over many different post over many different topics, but have not been able to get the words our of my head and into this post. I really become irritated by my seemingly more frequent inability to write, or at least be satisfied with what I have written. More than likely its the latter (it is the latter), but I shall not let that stop me from writing something. So where should I begin? So much has happened in the last week, so many wonderful things. In the last month, I had started a post about time (which I shall continue to work on) but time is only the fleeting moments. So when moments spontaneously occur when I get to share in a time of deep, meaningful conversation, it is memorable.

This week most colleges in the area began the first week of spring classes, and naturally that meant the return of doing college ministry on campus! I like to be observant, and so sometimes in the fleeting moments of random interactions with people, things catch my eye. I find great encouragement seeing those I serve with interacting with strangers. One thing I saw, was someone (you know who you are) breaking out of their comfort zone, and jumping into the mix to tell people about our campus ministry, a local bible study that we do once a week, and to just share the love of Christ with them. Sometimes we do not grasp the gravity of the moment, but in this moment I was able to just watch the gospel being shared. Jesus gave us this command, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” It takes boldness to step out and put yourself out there for the Lord, and that can be quite intimidating! On the college campus, students can be weary of the different organizations. However as each week passes, we give these same students a look, a word, and a touch. It can be as simple as a hello, a smile, and a handshake. We eventually build a relationship with these students, and regardless of where they stand treat them like our own. They get to know us, and ask us why we do what we do, and we tell them that we’re here to show the love of Christ. He changed our lives forever, and has called us to share the gospel with our neighbors.

It is amazing to see how God works through people, how God uses people to spread His word. I honestly look forward to spending three to four days a week with those in the College Ministry. The last week has been full of memories like these, which I cherish dearly. I can not put a value on memories like these. They are invaluable! So often we overlook the little things people do for us and other, we overlook the small moments, while we seek big adventures or meaningful memories. Between the big adventures and memories, there are boundless little moments of beauty. After we finished serving on campus, we went out together for lunch at Chipotle, because it was somebody’s birthday (Happy birthday (again)), we we’re starving, and because who doesn’t love Chipotle? Another moment happened, which I do not know how to describe. We shared a meal of bowls of chicken and beef, and engaged in deep, meaningful conversation about life and one another. I cannot recall a time over this meal where our noses were buried into the screens of our phones. It was five people discussion life, face to face, growing deeper together as a family unit. We all come from different pasts, different experiences, different paths, yet we have become brothers and sisters. We have become family! I credit the Lord for bringing us together. How else would we have ended up together sharing the gospel? I look forward to what is to come, I look forward to sharing the next eleven months doing life with these people, I look forward to growing deeper in the Lord together with these people! So remember to take a moment from time to time, and seek out those little, spontaneous moments that go unnoticed. Sometimes, you might just surprise yourself by what you see.

 


 

 

Let your steadfast love, O LORD, be upon us, even as we hope in you.

-Psalm 33:22

Leave a Reply

