[Message from T. Hurst: It has been a while since I last wrote, and so, as I finish up this semester, I brought in someone to write the very first guest article for this blog! My sister! I’m thrilled that she finally took me up on my offer to guest write on my blog! I hope you enjoy and be sure to check out her blog!]

 

 

This semester has been a whirlwind of time, stress, emotions, and life. Life is a whirlwind. I don’t know about yall, but I always feel like each day my time is gone before the day has even started. Do you ever just wonder why our days aren’t longer? Sometimes I ask God, but then He reminds me that if He wanted the days to be longer, he would’ve made them longer (But also, who am I to ask God and question His creation?).

This semester has been trying. I have been grown and stretched, and made uncomfortable. It has been hard, I’ve lost sleep, I’ve cried (a lot!), I’ve laughed, I’ve rejoiced, I’ve struggled, but I’ve learned some lesson from all of this.

This semester in my personal study time, I have been studying Philippians. I’ve been in Philippians so much that I’ve gotten sick of the teaching of the apostle Paul, only to return day-after-day to read the words over again. I have especially spent hours pouring over Philippians 2:27 “Only conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ.”Do my actions, my speech, does my life reflect the gospel of Christ? –No it does not always reflect Christ as it should.

What does it mean in Philippians 2:12 when Paul says to “work out your salvation with fear and trembling”?–Is it simply having the reverence for the Lord like I ought to? Or is it more?

Do I “Do all things without grumbling or disputing?”–No, in regard to daily thing and classes, my attitude has been one of complaint or grumbling. “I don’t want to…”, “Ugh…this sucks” I have been hesitant in things that I should not be hesitant in. I have had sluggish feet when approaching classes and papers, and obligations.

I am woking on rejoicing always as the apostle says to do. Sometimes thats hard. Often we as humans want to have pity parties for ourselves when things don’t go how we want to, or when life poops in our Cheerios. But we are commanded to rejoice in the Lord, ALWAYS.

How hard is to to not be anxious?–Let me tell you, its hard. I am not much of a worrier, but lately I have been worried and anxious about life, the future, classes, assignments, work. I forget sometimes that the rest of Philippians 4:6 says “Be anxious for nothing, BUT in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your request be made known of God.” i forget how important and vital prayer is sometimes. I get into this attitude of I ca do it, butI cannot. God can. I must remember this.

Mostly I am learning as the apostle Paul learned what it means to be content. He says in Philippians 4:11-13 “Not that I speak from want, for I have LEARNED to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” I am only able and content because of God. And contentment is not something that I can achieve overnight, it is a learning process.

I have learned this semester that God is working me to teach me. He is teaching me contentment. He is teaching me how to live in different situations. He is showing me what it means to have much and to have little. He is teaching me to sully rely on HIm. God is preparing me for His ministry. He is working in my life now, so that later I am prepared and not lacking. He is teaching to rejoice no matter what happens. He is teaching me to pray more and worry and be anxious less.

I know now that I will be better equipped for what comes in life later. Whatever ministry and life throw at my I will be better prepared. This semester has been trying, but I wouldn’t change it. Because if I changed it I never would have learned the things that I have. God has called me to be faithful and to follow Him. People may not understand this, but it doesn’t matter what other people think about me and the choices I make and the path that I follow. What matter is what God thinks of me. And I want to please Him and not others.

This is what I have learned.

Leave a Reply

